How many people have been relocated under the EU relocation scheme?

Brussels - In order to address an unprecedented arrival of migrants on the European Union's southern borders, in particular in Greece and Italy in 2015, a so-called emergency relocation mechanism entered into force in September 2015.
The measure applies to those migrants who are in need of international protection - mainly Syrians, Eritreans and Iraqis - with a recognition rate of international protection at EU level above 75 per cent.
It forces all member states except the United Kingdom, Denmark and the host countries - Italy and Greece - to accept a certain number of migrants and applies until September 17, 2017.
However, the measure has been controversial and divided member states, and the number of people relocated remains well below target.
Here is a rundown of which member states have accepted how many people under the scheme as of September 1, 2017, based on figures published by the European Commission.

This many people have arrived in these countries since the beginning of 2017 (first arrivals in Europe)

Austria is legally required to take 1,953 people, and has accepted 15 relocations.
Belgium is legally required to take 3,812 people, and has accepted 936 relocations.
Bulgaria is legally required to take 1,302 people, and has accepted 50 relocations.
Croatia is legally required to take 968 people, and has accepted 78 relocations.
Cyprus is legally required to take 320 people, and has accepted 130 relocations.
The Czech Republic is legally required to take 2,691 people, and has accepted 12 relocations.
Estonia is legally required to take 329 people, and has accepted 141 relocations.
Finland is legally required to take 2,078 people, and has accepted 1,951 relocations.
France is legally required to take 19,714 people, and has accepted 4,278 relocations.
Germany is legally required to take 27,536 people, and has accepted 7,852 relocations.
Hungary is legally required to take 1,294 people, and has accepted 0 relocations.
Ireland is legally required to take 600 people, and has accepted 487 relocations.
Latvia is legally required to take 481 people, and has accepted 321 relocations.
Lithuania is legally required to take 671 people, and has accepted 382 relocations.
Luxembourg is legally required to take 557 people, and has accepted 382 relocations.
Malta is legally required to take 131 people, and has accepted 148 relocations.
Netherlands is legally required to take 5,947 people, and has accepted 2,308 relocations.
Poland is legally required to take 6,182 people, and has accepted 0 relocations.
Portugal is legally required to take 2,951 people, and has accepted 1415 relocations.
Romania is legally required to take 4,180 people, and has accepted 727 relocations.
Slovakia is legally required to take 902 people, and has accepted 16 relocations.
Slovenia is legally required to take 567 people, and has accepted 217 relocations.
Spain is legally required to take 9,323 people, and has accepted 1,257 relocations.
Sweden is legally required to take 3,766 people, and has accepted 1,902 relocations.

A total of 70,627 people still need to be relocated from Greece and Italy under the scheme.